NMA Hall of Fame

This award is given to an Individual in recognition of significant personal and professional contributions to the development of management / leadership – its advocacy through exemplary personal behavior, or its development via writing, teaching, or theory development. Consideration is also given to outstanding achievements in the related areas of human resource development, training, ethics, and transformational leadership. The recipient will be “inducted” during a general session of NMA’s Annual Conference.

Qualifications: Nominees are generally nationally or internationally recognized for outstanding managerial, leadership, and human resource developmental accomplishments. They are leaders, innovators, and thinkers in their chosen field(s) and their achievements should be shown to have significantly impacted the workplace. Recipients may be retired from their primary career and the honor may also be bestowed posthumously. The recipient or some representative must be present to accept the award. While NMA membership is not a requirement, the individual exemplifies the principles included in the NMA’s Code of Ethics.

Nomination Submittal: Award nominations must be submitted by the designated deadline date, on the approved forms made available to all Chapters and Councils, and contains a Chapter or Council endorsement.

Download 2021 Hall of Fame Nomination Form Here

Review and Scoring: The Recognition Committee will receive and review all nominations submitted for the Hall of Fame Award. Each committee member will score the four areas of the nomination.

Ranking and Final Judging: The NMA Staff will combine the scores submitted from the Recognition Committee to determine the top 3 nominations. By the July committee meeting, the 3 nominees with the highest number of points will be evaluated and a recipient of the award declared.

Hall of Fame Award Recipients
Year Name
1978 Charles F. Kettering
1979 Louis Ruthenberg
1979 Thomas Fordham
1980 H J. “Jack” Post
1981 T. Claude Ryan
1982 John Leland Atwood
1983 Harry W. Todd
1985 Peter F. Drucker
1985 Royal Little
1986 George Odiorne
1987 Kenneth Rule Daniel
1988 Fritz Hauf, CM
1989 Larry Kitchen
1990 Robert Anderson
1991 Clarence L. “Kelly” Johnson
1992 Sanford N. “Sandy” McDonnell
1993 Robert L. Norton, CM
1994 John B. “Jack” Munson
1995 John N. McMahon
1996 Ben R. Rich
1997 Lloyd Shoppa
1998 John G. Eagan
1999 John Herschel Glenn, Jr.
2000 Milton S. Hershey
2001 Dr. David H. Ponitz
2002 Richard E. Thomas
2003 Will Keith Kellogg
2004 Willis M. Hawkins
2005 Florine Mark
2006 Anthony “Tony” Filippis, Sr.
2007 Michael I. “Mike” Mott
2008 Aram Mika
2010 Michael and Marian Ilitch
2011 Larry McQuien
2012 Peter Karmanos, Jr.
2014 Hugh Dorrian
2015 Sal Acosta
2016 Rick Stephens
2017 Gordon England
2018 Gregory A. Sudderth
2019 Anthony “Tony” Michaels
2020 Frank De Santis
Scroll to Top